Thread: Strategizing a rather involved project: scripted battle system

Strategizing a rather involved project: scripted battle system

I have a game. I'm wanting to pull as much of the arithmetic as possible out of the player's hands and put it into the capable hands of lua scripts. I'm an extremely novice scripter. I recently completed a very simple project involving a bag that added up values of its contents and displayed it. That's the full extent of my lua experience.

The game is a pretty simple tabletop RPG. What I want to do is automate pretty much everything about the game except for the player's actions, and use that as a platform to implement a more complicated battle system.

Players have three main and two minor character related cards: their masteries and knowledges (like characteristics and proficiencies), their suit (like armor), their weapon, their ship (like space armor), and their hardpoint (a ship weapon).
    Players also have tokens: a token to represent their person (the combination of masteries and suit), a token to represent themselves in a ship (masteries and ship), as well as a token to represent where they're attacking (weapon and hardpoint). More on that last bit later.

I want values from the character cards to be passed to and displayed as button labels on their respective tokens. If I'm understanding how it works correctly, this sounds pretty straightforward. I just have the tokens reference the appropriate GUID values of whatever specific cards they're wanting to pull values from.