Thread: [SOLVED] Locating Objects by Tag in a zone and then destroying them

[SOLVED] Locating Objects by Tag in a zone and then destroying them

Hello, I am new to scripting (3 days). I feel like I'm on the verge of it clicking for me but I'm having some trouble. I'm using MrStumps learning lua mod and this is what I have so far.

function onload()
    self.createButton({
    label="End the Showdown", click_function="CleanUp",
    function_owner=self, position={0,0,2},
    height=200, width=500, font_size=150, color={0,0,0,}, font_color={1,1,1},
    })

end

function CleanUp()
    local zone = getObjectFromGUID("600ec5")
    local objectsInZone = zone.getObjects()
    for _, object in ipairs(objectsInZone) do
    if object.tag == "monster" then
    destroyObject(tag, "monster")
    end
    end
    if foundObject == false then
    print("Showdown Board Cleared")
    end
    print("--------------------")
    end

Is this even possible to destroy by tag? How do I use the destroy() function?

- - - Updated - - -

destroyObject(card, tag, "monster)

?
    Last edited by maximo1984@ymail.com; 07-23-2017 at 06:27 AM.

So, in the "for _,object in pairs(objectsInZone)" loop, you're iterating over objects in the zone. Inside that loop, "object" variable is the reference to one of the objects in the zone - that loop repeats for each one. You got the first part right - "object.tag" accesses its tag. When working with object references, you can access some of its variables and some if its member functions (methods) listed on the API/Object page - one of these methods is .destruct() which simply deletes the object. So yeah, doing something like
    Code:
        if object.tag == "monster" then
            object.destruct()
        end
    end
    will destroy the object that was in the zone (iterated in the loop) and its tag was "monster" (so it went inside the "if" statement).